Posted : 2011-04-18 15:51
Updated : 2011-04-18 15:51

42nd Modern Korean Literature Translation Awards

The Korea Times is proud to announce the opening of the 42nd Modern Korean Literature Translation Awards for 2011.

This annual competition awards English translations of contemporary Korean literature in two categories: fiction (including drama) and poetry.

Applicants may submit one translation of a work of Korean fiction or drama of any length or translations of 10 poems by the same poet.

Applicants are permitted to submit only one entry in any one category. Translations submitted must not have been published in any form prior to the deadline.

Entries for The Korea Times Awards must not have been submitted to any other translation contest in the same year.

Rules for Fiction/Drama submissions

Candidates should submit an English translation of one work of fiction: a novel, novella or short story, or a play. Only original Korean work published in or after 1980 is permissible. Longer works will not automatically be given preference, although some credit will be considered for the additional effort involved. Accuracy and readability will both be taken into account in judging. A translation of one portion of a long novel will be considered on condition that it represents at least one third of the complete novel and the translator plans to translate the entire work.

Candidates do not need the author's permission to translate his/her work for submission to The Korea Times Awards, but since a translation cannot be published without such permission, it is strongly advised that anyone intending to translate a full-length work especially, should contact the author ― through the publisher if necessary ― before beginning, to inquire if such permission might be forthcoming, or in case another translator has already started.

Rules for Poetry Submissions

Candidates should submit English translations of 10 poems, all by the same poet. Only original poems first published in or after 1980 will be accepted.

General Rules

In both categories, the judges will be looking for accurate translations in quality English of significant works of contemporary literature. Works that have already been translated into English and published in book form will not be considered as submissions for the contest. Would-be contestants who are uncertain if their proposed work has already been translated and published should email a query to The Korea Times email address at

Translators are strongly encouraged to work as a team, integrating native speakers of both languages. Previous winners of the commendation award in one category are not eligible to submit entries in that same category for the following two years. Those who have been esteemed with a Grand Prize in one category are no longer eligible for further prizes in that same category.
Deadline for submissions : Sept. 1, 2011
  Translations should be sent prior to this date as email attachments in PDF format to with the reference “Korea Times Translation Awards.” The translator or translators must include full names, telephone numbers, as well as mailing and email addresses, in the body of the email message. Such information, the full names in particular, must not figure anywhere else in the file of the translation, nor in the name of the file.

The original Korean work should be scanned and submitted as an attached PDF file at the same time as the translations; if for some reason this is impossible, a hard copy must be sent by mail at the same time as the attached file to:

Korea Times Translation Awards
The Korea Times newsroom (Culture Desk)
8th floor, Chungmuro Tower, 43 Chungmuro3-ga
Jung-gu, Seoul, Korea

The judges' decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into after the fact.

With aims to promote a better understanding of Korean literature in the world The Korea Times especially encourages young translators to take part in this competition.

All copyrights of submissions and prize-winning works belong to the translators but all or portions of the award-winning entries may be published in The Korea Times.

The awards are conducted under the sponsorship of the Korea Exchange Bank.
Awarding Ceremony : As soon as possible after Nov. 1
For inquiry : Call The Korea Times Culture Desk (02) 724-2353 or email
  Grand Prize in Fiction (or Drama): 5 million won

Grand Prize in Poetry: 2 million won

Two Commendation Awards: 1 million won each to works in either fiction or drama and poetry. If there is no entry deserving the top award in poetry, the 2 million won top prize for poetry will instead be awarded to the first-runner up in the fiction-drama category and a third commendation may be awarded if there is a deserving entry.
  • 1. LG Uplus aims for telecom 'game changer'
  • 2. Choo Sung-hoon's grit touches UFC Seoul event
  • 3. President to support stronger climate action
  • 4. Indonesia to attract Korean golfers
  • 5. Seol Hyun on a roll
  • 6. S. Korea, Japanese, Chinese health ministers agree to jointly tackle MERS
  • 7. N. Korea apparently fails to launch ballistic missile from sub: official
  • 8. SK hynix urged to collaborate with Tsinghua
  • 9. Kakao, KT get preliminary licenses for online banks
  • 10. Four out of 10 couples have double income